The Story


GIANCE builds on many years of research at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Saarland University and Peking University. The pre-commercialization technology research has been supported by grants from the German Ministry for Education and Research, the German Research Foundation, two Google research awards, industrial cooperation projects from the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, grants from the Chinese National Research Foundation and R&D contracts from industrial corporations. The results of this research are documented in more than 40 international publications.

In the last twelve months, our Beijing team in cooperation with Peking University has extended the technology for coping with the Chinese language. Currently, our Beijing and Berlin teams are finishing a new generation of the system with improved algorithms for NLP and knowledge processing. Most of research and development has been conducted by teams consisting of German and Chinese AI/NLP scientists and engineers..

The Team

Prof. Dr. Hans Uszkoreit
Co-Founder

Member of the European Academy of Sciences, Scientific Director at German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence(DFKI). 30 Years experience in Artificial Intelligence as a professor and research leader in Germany and US, especially in the field of language and knowledge technologies. Has co-founded and guided several AI startup companies. His research is documented in more than 200 international publications.

Dean Gao 
Co-Founder

Master of Electronic Engineering, Queen Mary College, University of London. Former General Manager of Voicebox Greater China, an American artificial intelligence voice and contextual natural language understanding company. Worked in Microsoft before as a startup ecosystem lead, ISV BD & Evangelist. Experienced serial entrepreneur, founded LunaSquare.

Dr. Renlong Ai 
Co-Founder


Ph.D. of Computational Linguistics of Saarland University, MSc in Computer Science of Technical University Berlin, 10+ years R&D at Language Technology Lab of DFKI and experience in product development for a Berlin NLP startup.

Dr. Sven Schmeier
Co-Founder

Nearly 20 years work in AI research and product development at DFKI and several companies. Ph.D. of Saarland University, Co-founder and CTO of Yocoy (DFKI’s spin-off company). Extensive experience in NLP, ML, Big Data, from basic research to development, to products and commercialization.

Livia Li 
Co-Founder

With 10+ years working experience in multi-national companies as a business development and marketing expert as well as technology evangelist. Served in Microsoft and Oracle.

我们的历程

GIANCE的创立基于德国人工智能研究中心 (DFKI)、德国萨尔大学、柏林工业大学和北京大学的多年联合研究。实现商业化前,其技术研究分别获得到了来自德国教育和研究部、德国研究基金会的认可,获得两项谷歌研究奖,并在德国经济事务和能源部下设的工业合作项目中、中国国家研究基金会和业界公司合作中获得资助,研究成果已在至少40多部国际出版物中刊登和发表。

在过去的十二月里, 我们的北京研发团队与北京大学合作, 扩展了中文语言处理技术。目前, 我们的北京和柏林研发团队正在用改良后的自然语言处理和知识处理算法来开发新一代系统。大多数研究和开发都是由中德两国人工智能和自然语言处理科学家及工程师团队共同完成的。

我们的团队

Prof. Dr. Hans Uszkoreit
Co-Founder

欧洲科学院院士,德国人工智能研究中心联合创始人及科学董事,斯坦福大学AI科学家,卡内基梅隆大学语言技术学术委员会主席。超过30年人工智能领域学术研究积累,所带领的团队在中国和德国有10年以上合作经验。

Dean Gao 
Co-Founder

伦敦大学玛丽女王学院电子工程系硕士,曾就职于美国人工智能语音公司Voicebox 担任大中华区总经理,曾就职于微软担任高级战略顾问和合作伙伴布道师,微软中国区新创企业扶植计划负责人;连续创业者,曾创建公司LunaSquare。

Dr. Renlong Ai 
Co-Founder

德国萨尔大学计算语言学博士,柏林技术大学计算机科学硕士,10年以上德国人工智能研究中心语言技术实验室的研发经验,以及柏林自然语言处理创业公司的产品开发经验。

Dr. Sven Schmeier
Co-Founder

20年DFKI、创业公司从事人工智能研究和产品开发工作。德国萨尔大学博士,Yocoy(DFKI孵化企业)的联合创始人兼首席技术官。围绕自然语音处理、机器学习、大数据拥有丰富的研发、产品、商业化经验。

Livia Li 
Co-Founder

计算机科学背景及10余年跨国高科技公司的一线商务合作经验,先后就职于微软、甲骨文,负责建立并推动云和人工智能的企业生态,在拓建新的商业模式并孵化成功商业案例方面拥有丰富经验。